Just another WordPress.com site

NO “WEIGH” José

Citing “medical neglect”, authorities in one Colorado county removed (with some degree of effort) a 200+ pound 3rd grader from the care of his mother and put him into a foster home. Yes, he is 8 years old and weighs over 200 pounds! 😐

Authorities say the child first came to the attention of Health and Family services when a little more than a year ago the child’s mother brought him to a doctor for breathing related issues. The child was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea and the mother was instructed to place her child on a diet. Despite a brief drop in weight, the child actually began to re-gain the weight and some. The mother claims his older sibling and friends began sneaking the boy extra food. She claims that she has not been neglectful and wants her son to lose the weight. She is distraught that her son, an honor roll (not that kind of roll) student has been removed from his life and put in foster care.

I’m not going to get on a soapbox here about dieting and health etc. But I must ask the question: What exactly has been done to 1)Curtail the boy’s weight? and 2)At what point was his weight going to be a problem for the mother?

He’s 8 years old and 200+ pounds! The idea of that confounds me. Despite her claims that she in fact has not been negligent, I argue that lifestyle choices and a pattern of unhealthy behavior have led to this point. I keep thinking to my childhood and asking myself ‘where were the obese children when I was a kid?’. Sure, there were some fat kids… but OBESE!?! I can’t recall any 200+ pound children in my class because we were all too busy running and playing outdoors.

3 responses

  1. erika

    I was thinking about childhood obesity very recently. Like you, I remember a few husky kids at school (not even fat)–usually about one or two in the ENTIRE school, who were ripping and running with the rest of us. But to be 200+ pounds at 3? How can that happen? I am seriously befuddled.

    November 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    • erika

      I meant to type 8…

      November 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm

  2. This case is very much a grey area. Was it right to take the child away from his mother because her was over weight? It seems that taking the young boy away from his mother is going to be more detremental to his health then his present state. However, I do hope that his mother’s eyes are opened so that she can see he needs help and so does she. The cycle needs to stop somewhere.

    December 4, 2011 at 2:38 am

Leave a Reply

