Just another WordPress.com site

Fresh to Death

Do you remember the episode of Good Times when they all thought Fishbone died? In grief and mourning everyone failed to see him arrive at his own funeral, dressed as his own widow. In a surprise twist he revealed himself and launched into a sermon about how important it is to tell the people you love that you do in fact love them while they are alive as opposed to the dog and pony show many people put on when a person has died.

John Beckwith and his son, John Jr. must have been inspired by that episode when they came up with the concept for the commercial advertising their Golden Gate Funeral Home. Check it out here:

The father and son have taken their program even further with expanded services which include a fleet of luxury funeral vehicles, choreography, and gators to match their branded suits. I’m not clowning but… ok yes I am. WTF?! It’s a funeral, not Showtime at The Apollo!

I know, I know some people get off on showing out for funerals. I guess they figure everyone’s going to be talking, so let’s give’em something to talk about. Well at least the commercial didn’t go like this:

Two young brothers caught up in a a gang shoot out. One of the young brothers gets hit. As he lies mortally wounded in his partner’s arm, he looks into his homeboy’s eyes and with his last breath blurts out, “Make sure they take me to Golden Gate! I wanna look goooood”. Then he dies. In his grief and desperation his homie assures him “Yeah G! Golden Gate Funeral Home… where you’ll be fly to death.”

SHIT! I think I may have just written their next commercial!

4 responses

  1. “Son…Son…you’re hit Son.” B…Yo…B….I’m…I’m bleeding baaaad….It’s getting..it’s getting dark…”. “Young money…stay with me…stay awake….” “Yo…I…I…can see it…I can see it!” “What you seeing? Baby! Awwwww Man. What you seeing?” “Yo Son it’s Golden…it’s GOLDEN!” “It’s what?” “It’s GOLDEN GATE FUNERAL HOME” (Insert Address and Web Address) “Where they’ll make sure I reach the Pearly Gates like a real G should!”

    July 11, 2011 at 10:05 am

    • neopopstar

      Haaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

      July 11, 2011 at 10:52 am

  2. johnalynn

    You guys are stoopid!!!!

    July 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm

  3. What he said.

    July 30, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Leave a Reply

