Just another WordPress.com site

#FAIL

I think I’ve done a good job of concealing my, uhm, disappointment in the work of Tyler Perry. I’ve not publicly ranted my inability to find any humor or creativity in his recycled stories, tired punchlines, black-male-bashing melodramas or the ubiquitous “black comic in drag” shtick. I’ve never put down his projects. I’ve never swayed anyone from supporting his films by seeing it in the theaters or buying his dvds (that even goes for the bootlegs). In fact I’m often curious to know from his fans – just what is so funny? The truth is (and I say this proudly) I’ve NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER seen ANYTHING  he’s done. No plays, no movies… not even the tv shows. I simply don’t get it. Or him. That’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it.

His filmography is completely unappealing to me and yes, friends and family members have tried to convince me that I would actually like “Why Did I Get Married”, though in my core, I know I would not. Whenever I hear about one of his projects selling-out box offices, I am always confounded and bewildered. Is this really the best we have to offer in black cinema? Are we really to believe there are NO OTHER stories to tell than those of a sassy-black grandmother mentoring yet another woman whose been derided by some no-good black man? I wonder if his support and adoration come from his fans being that die-hard or if its simply because he’s the only “show” in Hollywood. You may have heard me say, I wished he would use his power of influence to give rise to young filmmakers whose works would counter the stereotypical representations of black people in cinema or at least who have something different to say.

I am not hating on TP’s success nor his creative endeavors. However, I do reserve the right as a thinking, scrutinizing, well-read and well-traveled person to critique his work – sight unseen- because it doesn’t take me watching one of his films to know what to expect. And frankly my appetite for black exploitation, whether its objectifying, subjugating or just plain dumbing down, is quite full – to the point I may vomit. Which is what I did when I saw Perry’s marketing poster for his next film. #FAIL. #FAIL. #FAIL!

5 responses

  1. I'm Just Sayin'...

    I couldn’t have said it better myself!!!! This was a great critique for having never seen his work. I think if you would have seen his work, you’d be more disgusted. Recycled stories in deed. The two films of his I liked most were Why Did I get Married (1, not 2!) and the Family That Preys…mainly because there was no Madea presence. The Madea movies lack the most originality, talent and creativity…but people are really jocking him and I have no clue why

    March 21, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  2. it still amazes me that he has two shows on the air…and they’re still going strong. every time i see a commercial for them i’m wondering who is actually watching this? can we have another “cosby show” or something…sheesh.

    March 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  3. renee m.

    This is great. I don’t even know you, but this was recommended by a friend… I have seen a couple of the movies and I’m still waiting for the punchline. What’s worse is that I can’t distinguish one movie from the other. Of course heaven forbid I say that to my mom, LOL!!

    March 21, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  4. I have seen a few of his movies but I feel exactly the same way.On one hand, I appreciate the fact that he has given actors of colors more opportunities, but on the other hand I think that most of his movies are …well crap. I also don’t understand what’s so damn funny…I tried to watch one of the television shows, I think it was Meet the Browns…I got through about 3 minutes…I couldn’t, I just couldn’t ….I can’t understand for the life of me how this buffonery is on the air..its almost scary to me that he has such a large following…

    March 22, 2011 at 5:09 am

  5. Schwarerin

    Ditto!

    March 22, 2011 at 10:26 am

Leave a Reply

