Just another WordPress.com site

Don’t wake me… I’m dreamin’

Today’s post is dedicated to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. He’d want me to tell you this… YALL HAVE LOST YOUR DAMN MINDS!

Seriously, I mean, I’m taking some creative license in how I’m putting it to you- but know that’s the gist of what he would want me to say.

What am I talking about, you ask? So I’m cruising the information super highway and I come across this flyer:

Shaking my head...

At first I laughed because I thought it was a joke. But sadly, it was not. I’m not going to preach about all the things that are wrong with this, but I must ask the question: (in my best Ludacris voice ) “How low can you go?”

But I can’t front. I’m curious as to how the conversation for planning this provocative event must have gone.

Promoter 1: Damn homie, we gotta th’o the party of the yurr!
Promoter 2: Yeah b! It gotta be outlandish and just plain ig’nant!
P1: Yeah man, what about Boats & Hoes? We can have a buncha freaks in canoes and sailor hats dancing on stage.
P2: Nah my dude, we did that last week. Memba? At that reggae club… Nah we need extravagantly  offensive. Oh I got it. What about Cereal & MILFS? We can get some chicks and have the homies pouring Apple Jacks and Fruity Pebbles all over’em!
P1: That aint gone work… I got it… Let’s get some yella broads and some chocolate ones and make’em have a strip off…
P2: DAAAAMMMMNNN! Now that’s IGNORANT! Shit, let’s call is Light Skin vs. Dark Skin Party
P1: YEeaaaahHHH Boyeeeee! Extra points if they got that good hair!
P2: Or at least a curly weave!

Sad to say, to many this may be the party of the year… but yet and still, it’s a damn shame.

Thanks to the homie Jon Goode for sharing the following video with me today: “I’M BLACK & I’M PROUD” – MLK

REST IN POWER DR. KING

4 responses

  1. Extra points if they got that good hair….. good grief *charlie brown voice*.

    I thought this was a joke when I first heard about it. I would like to see the people who would actually attend this party….I could see it now…

    “oh you think you cute cuz you light skinned!”

    “hmmm you cute….for a dark skin girl”

    “girrrrl got dat hawaiian silky…nope! thats yaki”

    January 13, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  2. My dude… LMAO that right there is on some Brown Sugar “RIN AND TIN The Hip Hop Dalmatians” isshh LOL but you funny tho!! LOL

    January 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm

  3. Shannon B.

    Thanks for bring this to our attention. Good post, only the fictional promoters had unbelievably good vocabularies. “Outlandish” and “extravagantly offensive” is giving them too much credit. It would be more like “crazy dawg wit bad broads,” or something to that effect.

    I would like to see Atlanta club goers boycott in protest of that self-loathing, post-MLK day colorism, but that would be, well, just a dream.

    January 13, 2011 at 10:50 pm

  4. Wow! This is interesting and very well written. Not to mention the fact that the girl on the right is not even dark-skinned. This is wild and a lot of people don’t see anything wrong with it. Once again, we are the source of our own set back.

    January 13, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Leave a Reply

